Meet the Xhosa duo taking over the internet

The recent history of the South African entertainment scene, has seen some of the most talented Xhosa-speaking entertainers in various art forms. The likes of Zahara, Nathi, Amanda Black, Simphiwe Dana, legendary filmmaker, John Kani and son, Atandwa Kani. This endless list include upcoming vloggers, Siviwe Lutseke and TaFire. The duo is taking over the digital space quicker than we had imagined. The two comedians use everyday social interactions, combined with humour to address social issues.

The eagerness of most internet users to learn different world cultures propels this industry to grow. We have a young chat with the duo.

Gents, tell us about yourselves? 

TaFire: Siyabulela ‘TaFire’ Deli was born in 1996, in East London. Fluent in most South African languages.

Siviwe: Well, I’m Siviwe Lutseke, born in King Williams Town but raised in Queenstown. Attended primary school at Queens Junior then later progressed to Queens College. I never really went to Varsity but I plan on going to AFDA next year to improve my skills.

What was your initial inspiration for getting into this type of vlogging?

T: My love and passion for comedy and acting is what inspired me to start doing Skits. Beyond this, I am inspired by black mothers and their everyday humour, which they do not necessarily recognise.

S: Ever since I was a kid, I’ve always enjoyed comedy. But my real inspiration was when I was introduced to “vines” in 2014 by a friend of mine; then in 2015 I decided to make my own. 

I am inspired by black mothers and their everyday humour, which they do not necessarily recognise.

Most brands, locally and globally are taking advantage of the digital space, do you think South Africans are taking advantage of the medium?

T: Years back we could say something different, but now South Africans are being woke and are starting to utilize the Digital space.

S: Well personally I think South Africa is taking this “vlogging” thing lightly because in countries such as the USA, vloggers are doing big things with these big brands, through marketing collaborations.

How do you manage your time?

T:  I just make sure the work is done before I can focus on anything. So Work first then the social life.

S: Since I don’t go to school, my schedule isn’t as hectic as people think it is.

I think South Africa is taking this “vlogging” thing lightly

What does you typical day look like?

T: Shooting Videos then Chill rest of the day. Or handling Interviews then shoots then chilling after that.

S: Watching ALOT of series, exercising, traveling to different towns & cities, chilling with friends lol and eating ALOT! Food is life 

Connect with TaFire and Siviwe:

TaFire: Youtube Channel

Siviwe: Youtube Channel

Leave a comment