Weekly Rising Star: Tris T

Music has always been synonymous with the singularity of language universally. With no exception to the rest of the world, South Africa has seen many legends whom over the years used music to change the social status-quo. Individuals such as Mama Merriam Makeba, Hugh Masekela, Thandiswa Mazwai and many others have and continue to use this artistic discipline for social change. In our new segment, Weekly Rising Star we chat to the 20-year-old Johannesburg-born muso, Sibusiso “Tris T” Thomo.

Tell us about yourself

My name is Sibusiso Thomo, otherwise known as Tris T. I was born in Johannesburg and grew up in Spruitview in the Eastrand. I studied Financial Management at the Ekurhuleni West College.

 

When does your passion for music come from?

My passion for music developed when I was still very young. This saw me hone my talent through singing in the school choirs, listening to music, and arguably the most important highlight for me was signing with my aunt. As a child I also started a music group I sang with after School. This was an interesting journey as we’d tour and perform at many local events. So, one could say, my music journey started when I was very young. My vocal strength and skill developed from all these experiences  

Who inspires you musically?

I am mostly inspired by John Legend, but there are many other artists such as Beyoncé and Miguel that I draw inspiration from. In the country, I listen to various House music vocalists as they all have something different to offer. In general, I am inspired by how music has grown globally and how it can be used to change the world.

IMG-20180403-WA0009.jpg

How would you describe your sound?

Well, I have worked on a lot of genres, this is evident at the progression I have made in my career as a musician. My first ever EP was Pop. I later realized that I was no longer comfortable with the genre and that it was not something I would love to do, I branched out and explored commercial House, however I also realized later that I wanted to advocate through music and speak the South African story. Over the years I have learnt, explored and can comfortably do many genres including Gospel, RnB , House , Hip pop and many others.

In general, I am inspired by how music has grown globally and how it can be used to change the world.

Which artists have you worked with?

I have worked with many emerging and local artists, the list is endless, but it includes individuals such as Thandeka , Phumla, Arum September , DjladyDu, Dub Sonic , Dj Choc, Sovviet  and Mbuso De Mbazo. I believe that as I grow in the industry, I will get an opportunity to work with many other talented artists.

 

What are some of the challenges you come across as an emerging Muso?

This is arguably my biggest challenge, securing DJ’s that produces and play with, lately, one needs a DJ to work with as a House vocalist or someone who Produces music. Beyond this, other challenges include getting my music play listed, securing gigs, and increasing my fan base.  

If you were to collaborate with anyone, who would it be?

It would be a dream coming true to work with DJ Black Coffee, mainly because I admire his work. Beyond this, he’s a Legend and continues to make waves in the industry, not just in the continent, but internationally as well.

Quickies

  • Tris T is listening to…

Da Capo- Found You

Lady Zamar- HERO

DJ Zinhle- Colours

  • Celebrity Crush: Natasha Thahane

 

Leave a comment