Swelled Up! Convo with Hungani Ndlovu

The 23 year old Hungani Ndlovu plays the role of a techno savvy and scheming teenage boy, Romeo Medupe on ETV’s Scandal.. This talented actor has also indicated through Instagram that he is a no go are, so ladies you have it! In a feature ran by Youth Village Hungani reveals his off screen persona which cuts across leadership, community building, passion for the arts and academia. We bring this uncut convo with him

Tell us a little about yourself?
I grew up in Hazy View and Green Valley until I was about 4 years old, then we moved to Polokwane and then we moved to Johannesburg when I was 13. I went to Pietersburg Pre-School, P.E.M.P.S (Gr 1 – 3), Mitchell House (Gr 4 – 7) and St Stithians Boys College (Gr 8 – 12). I had a great childhood, I’d like to believe. Grew up in a great family with both my parents and my older sister. With so much love and care in our family, it gave me the freedom to express myself. Thus, I started dancing at a very young age and performing for my family (my sister thought I was irritating though). The most I remember about my childhood is spending a lot of the time with my family. I was always referred to as a ‘Mamma’s Boy’.
What/Who inspires you to wake up everyday?
God and my family.
How did you break into the television industry?
Firstly I studied acting in order to know exactly what is required to be an actor. I was an extra for some years. After deciding to stop being an extra and focus on being the actor I want to be, I worked on getting an agent which I did successfully, then my agent would send me for auditions. For the first 3 months with them, I booked nothing! After 22 no’s from auditions, I finally got a yes for Scandal! on E-Tv.  That’s the short version of the story 🙂
What has been the greatest lesson since your first debut?
Preparation is key! You always have to be prepared as an actor going to work, no matter what’s going on in your personal life. It can’t interfere with your work.
What is the most difficult thing about preparing for a shoot and how do you overcome it?
When the writers, have written in a way that I the actor don’t agree with for the character. But because my role is to act and not write, I bite my tongue and continue and hope the director might see what I saw and change it.
Preparation is key! You always have to be prepared as an actor going to work…
If you were to share a set with someone, who would it be and why?
Denzel Washington – He is one of my acting role models and I believe I would learn a lot from him and also I think it would just be a joy and a half to work with him.
What makes South Africa great for you?
The landscape/nature. Whenever I get a chance to go to a nature reserve, I’m always amazed at how beautiful this country is!
Any people you would like to credit for the role that they played in how your career turned out?
My parents and my sister! 
Any advise for those who would like to get into the industry?
Make sure you are continuously learning the craft and developing yourself personally. It’s very important to know why you want to do this and be willing to work hard and smart for it. It’s not easy. Don’t try take short cuts because you will burn! There are many fly by night agents and directors who promise people gold and platinum, and because people are desperate or really want to be in this industry they fall for those tricks. You need to be wise enough to do research and read about how things work in the industry so you don’t get caught up in the hype of these fly by nights. If you set goals and put your mind to achieving them, and work towards achieving them, well…things will fall into place and you shall indeed achieve your goals.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

QUICKIES:
  • If it was not acting,it would be…? DANCING
  • Love or set? LOVE 
  • Sello Maake Ka Ncube or Jerry Mofokeng?  BOTH

Leave a comment