6 Swelling questions…

In our newly added feature, 6 Swelling questions, we feature the Liberian/Lebanese born model, Phillip Assad Kekula. Phillip moved to the Mother City while when he was just a boy and as they say, ‘the rest is history’. 

PHILLIP2
Phillip Kekula

Who is Phillip Kekula?

I was born in West Africa, Liberia to be precise, moved to Cape Town in My teens and studied  there.

How would you describe yourself?

Am easy going, chilled and a bit nervous  when it comes  to meeting  people  for the first  time, so am more of an introvert. Fitness Junkie, love traveling and fashion of course.

What kind of Model are you if u don’t  fall in love with Milan?

How did you get into the industry?

I was at gym one day and a beautiful  Lady  that happens  to be a model Scout came up to me and asked  if I was interested  in being a model, started  from there.

PHILLIP4

If you were to model a piece by anyone (Not just a designer, but it can be Mandela for all we know) who would it be and why?

Hmmmm… that’s a hard one, I love the work of this 80 year old south African artist, i don’t really know her name but I think  her work is original, with history,  culture and it’s  authentic.  So I’ll go with her.

PHILLIP5PHILLIP3

Milan or Italy and why?

Love Italy, the food arts and culture amazing, but I will  never go to Italy  without visiting  Milan, i mean  what kind of Model are you if u don’t  fall in love with Milan? is almost like the Cradle of fashion.

PHILLIP5

In men’s fashion, what’s trending this season (winter)?

Embroided clothing, denim on denim, prints and people are trying out Kimono.

 

Phillip on the ramp

AirBrush_20170504123239AirBrush_20170504123541

Leave a comment